October Moon: Blackberry Moon

This is the moon that is the last time of the year to pick blackberries, before the Good Neighbors claim them. And, giving our natural disaster we’ve had – well… There are no blackberries nor other berries to pick. Sigh.

I spent the moon painting my skulls, of which I waited to see what They wanted to have placed on them. No rush, and during this moon, it was time.

Picture 725

I was given the steel earring from a co-worker. Given it’s shape, I think it makes a nice addition to the nocturnal owl skull.

Since this is the first moon of the Season of the Dead, I prayed and gave offerings to my Ancestors. I visited a ‘haunted house,’ with my sister, in honor of the season. Needless to say, it was fun.

Also, I have taken a different approach to my altar. Instead of downsizing (yea, because THAT will happen), I decided to condense. If I can fit it all in one space, I’ll count myself well-off. I have really worked well with this singular place: A shrine, temple, bone-room, hearth, and more in one location. So far, so good.

Still learning about Fire-Ant, it’s been… Rocky at best, but steady. Reaffirmed my relations with Wasp after finding another nest, and rescuing three wasps from the boots of co-workers. Surprisingly, I didn’t get stung. Divining with Mink as usual, I have to say working with Mink has been the easiest so far.

Picture 721

More ritual work.

I do not celebrate the usual Samhain, except in an Ancestral feast only. October 19th was the sacred day of Arta, and I spent the day studying bear folklore and re-reading old books on Bear. It always amazes me that no matter how many times you read a book, you can pick up something new.

I live on a hunting/smithing yearly cycle, so as the Pagans I know prepare to celebrate Samhain, I simply raise a rum toast to celebrate our differences, rather than spit at them for simply being different. I know I won’t get the same treatment in return, but unlike so many who do not live with the whole ‘Craft of the Wise,’ but think they do… I’m trying. Boy howdy have I f**ked up, but hey, I’m trying.

So, my major offering is a living one to my Ancestors – to actually try to incorporate what they’ve learned, and to try to NOT repeat history. It’s a start, right?

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “October Moon: Blackberry Moon

  1. M.A. Rivera

    Greetings. I really like the painting on your skulls. It’s probably a given but I was wondering what sort of paints you used for the skulls. Blessings.

    • Sorry it took a minute to get back to you – the paints are a mix of water-based paint and for the black it’s ground ash/charcoal and water-based paint mixed together. It sounds odd but I love the finish. I hope this helps!

  2. I’m curious where you are located- the blackberries (black raspberries technically) that grow in our front yard ripen in July, so I associate that with the beginning of Lughnasadh. Your painted skulls remind me a lot of Dia de los Muertos (Mexican Day of the Dead) Is that an inspiration at all for you?

    • I’m in NE Colorado – we HAD blackberries by the river until the unbelievably hard freeze – now, we just have a bush.

      I am inspired by many folk traditions, Dia de los Muertos being one of them. And, following the lines in the skulls themselves provide a guide for my painting.

      I hope this helps :).

Leave a Reply

