Learning About the Fire-Ant

So I’ve been working with this aggressive Fire-Ant; and the progress has been up, down, left, then right twice. When it seems that it bites for no good reason, it has opened my eyes. Yes, there actually ARE reasons.

Sometimes, I’m not mindful enough of the world around me, and I could be stepping on toes I aught not to be treading on but I’m not realizing it.

I have lost the sense of community in many senses of the word. I get the sting to boot my ass back into civilization – and talking with people again. A bear that spends too long in the den forgets how to speak, right?

But, the Fire-Ant is still an Ant. They are builders, but they do not build alone – but with the strength of many they can build their own mountains. And, the Fire-Ant does not build their huge mounds quickly – but one grain at a time and with staunch persistence.

And, I’m re-learning how to work with others, and learning more social skills than I ever did from actual people (funny how that works out), and still have the strength and energy to keep building.

And, to put up my dukes for what I believe in (It’s never been a huge issue, but it’s more than just themselves the single Fire-Ant fights for) and to be proud to be a hard-worker and a hard-fighter.

I’d like to think I’ve learned quite a bit from the Fire-Ant so far, it’s a hard spirit to work with (unlike other Ants) but I guess with my own stubbornness it works out in it’s own odd way.

Ok, so Mink, Wasp, and Fire-Ant…

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Learning About the Fire-Ant

  1. I have had the (mis)fortune of being bitten by one once when I lived in NM, it hurt more than I had expected, and my whole foot started to swell up.

    Not fun.

    I guess perhaps it was something to seal moving away in my mind, because we had just met our neighbor’s cute puppy, and were doubting our choice to move across the country when I was 35 weeks pregnant. Luckily we did, but that sting/bite still sticks in my mind.

    Wasps and Ants seem to follow me wherever I go. I have had wasps land on me just to stop by, and one drank my sweat on a hot summer day, while waiting for a bus.

    Thank you for sharing this, even if working with this Spirit is difficult for you, I appreciate you sharing the journey and lessons with us. I enjoy your path and writing a lot πŸ™‚

    • Well thank you! I’m glad you enjoy my blog :). Well, it’s been trying working with the Fire-Ant, as I get bitten… A lot.

      Wasps land on me frequently, and those I work with have come to accept that and stopped swatting them from me. But, I’m aware that I can get stung just as easily and anyone else – they are insects – not Disney characters.

      I appreciate the feedback – thank you.

      • You are most welcome. I have read nearly all of your posts (I think all of them, but not sure now), and have especially enjoyed reading about Arta and the drum you use. I have been working on my own homemade drum, not to copy you at all, just inspired by you writing about how you felt using it.

        I can imagine that being bitten a lot by a creature you are trying to learn from and foster a relationship with would be very difficult. I have gotten stung or bitten often by insects in the past, not fun at all. I would get stung so often as a kid that my folks had to keep a homemade paste of french clay powder, aloe vera, homeopathic gel called Sting Stop, and arnica gel for my stings and bites.

        I found that the Sting Stop gel works pretty well on fire ant bites too, it has Citronella extract and Eucalyptus extract as well as some homeopathic ingredients too. I keep it on hand for my kids too.

        http://www.sssstingstop.com/

  2. Sindr

    Sort of come to this point myself – community is required, and it means doing a bit of self-work and a bit of knowing when one has crossed a line, and when one needs to stand up for oneself. It’s a fine balance, but a good lesson. Good to see you’re carrying on with it!

    • It is hard work, and learning how to have relations here really has taught me to have better relations with Them.

      I’m still tickin’… πŸ˜‰

  3. I am slowly reading through your blog, love it.. this post made me giggle because I am very much an “in the hut” person who is trying (not all that successfully) to embrace community.. I find it really hard as a solitary being but also surprisingly rewarding at times.. hard to explain. It’s like I am awkward and not social (and I’m good with that) but once I do make myself get out there (on very rare occasions).. I learn so much.

    • Thank you for reading! I understand, it is hard to explain, but yes, I understand. I look forward to your thoughts and comments!

Leave a Reply

