Updated: Honoring the Locals

Today, I stayed home. It’s a long private story why.

I asked some local farmers about the corn-wolf this last week, and about my making one from corn husks that blew straight to my front door from the very field I met the spirit originally.

A twinkle in their eye, some chuckled – ‘Hey better you than me!’ is the usual answer I got. Despite being staunch Christian people, many are still superstitious about harvest time. Now that I caught the last corn sheaf and took it into my home – I get to hold on to it for winter.

So I spent part of my day playing the harmonica to the corn-wolf, old folk tunes and some modern ones, as well as to the local Gods as well. It’s true, I’m more than likely the only Pagan out here. There is a tiny group in Ft. Morgan, but the chances of having enough gas to commute there routinely is… Not gonna happen for a while.

It’s also true – I met the spirit, and essentially I asked for it.

Ah shit. What did I get myself into?

After I initially wrote this, I sat and played, and thought for a long while on this. I am beginning to think this what happens locally, and when you ‘den down,’ here and put in roots. Now, it’s back to Google so I can learn how to properly honor the spirit, and how to ‘release,’ the spirit in the spring. I am taking this as ‘You shouldn’t shun the Local Gods,’ lesson.

Oh, and I’m taking notes.

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Updated: Honoring the Locals

  1. Natalie Reed

    Ours is not to reason why……

    • I suppose not. I’m nothing to shake a stick at, and this corn-wolf seems to wierd to me. Maybe it’s a part of the local Gods, I don’t know. I’m still learning about them. Talk about a right hook.

  2. Sindr

    It doesn’t matter if you’re not agricultural…you’re a witch; possibly the first one in the area for a very long time, and the land knows. So honour the spirit that has decided to knock on the door. It happens.

    In the UK, the farmers here still put bread and milk out now and again to their fields. They’ll never tell anyone why (though i know. I know). They just say “Well, it doesn’t hurt, does it?” They work with the land. They Know, too.

    Do the Work, and the answers will come…along with more questions. That’s the way of it.

    • That’s true. I do put creme out for the spirits myself, and I will continue to honor the spirit, even if the entire scenario befuddles me. I haven’t met another local Pagan out here for months, so, I guess it’s me in my grouchy entirety.

      At this point, the corn-wolf is made, and given a ‘bed’ on the local altar. I’ll figure it out as I go. It’s true, sometimes the answers come knocking, other times you open the door to get kicked in the shin.

  3. Hoping for no shin kicks!

Leave a Reply

