Remembering Wisdoms on the ‘Blackberry Moon.’

Since there has been so much in-fighting, bickering, gossip as well as rumor spreading, I refuse to join in from here on out. I’m human, and fallible yes. But it was my Mink spirit, and Wasp – who showed it all to me. I could keep falling into old holes – but taking a step back, and thinking prior – can show you the dark looking mirror before you peer through.

But I refuse to fall into old loop-holes. I went back through old notes, and I will try to learn from old wisdom I learned years ago. Couldn’t hurt, could it?

If you want to join in, re-blog and add your thoughts.. Bringing more wisdom and deep thinking back to the ‘craft of the wise,’ or those who tout themselves as ‘wise ones’ or not, from either end of the spectrum we can all learn, and deep thinking doesn’t hurt anyone on any path.

There are twelve that I will bring up here. You are free to have your own opinions, thoughts, and completely different trains of thought processes. The point here is to get everyone thinking again.

First one: The Bones are not mute.

I look at this one more than just physical bones. It is the bones of old relationships, the bones of old towns, the bones of old stories left silent…

The bones are never silent. There is still something to be in awe about, to think about, to remember, and to stare at wondering. Even if we can’t remember it clearly.

The ‘bones,’ we know of are too well known, how many of us have ‘skeletons,’ still in the closet?

These bones are not just the reddend-white vessels in ritual. They’re more than that. I take a moment now to reflect on how many ‘bone yards,’ I have in my own history. Sigh. The bones are not mute.

Then there are the physical bones. Those skulls and bone-bundles that remember, and working with them can be a challenge; a comedy and tragedy all in one. You hold those bones and can’t explain why you giggle, or sigh, or tear up. Those vessels we use in ritual, they speak too. The bones are not mute.

The bones of our society, our human natures that are so sun-bleached we can’t recognize what they came from originally. The unanswered questions, the old memories now rife with wind blowing through them – the wasteland of human thinking. The bones are not mute.

I take this bit of wisdom to take up the bones, and keep them at home until I remember. I will speak to them, breathe life back into them – to get them to speak again. The bones spoke once, and it’s never too late to speak to them again, because.. The bones are not mute.

Will any of you think you’d like to join in?

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Remembering Wisdoms on the ‘Blackberry Moon.’

  1. Sindr

    An interesting exercise – I applaud it! In reference to the subject I’ve put a blog up already as I had been ruminating about living on what is essentially considered to be a giant necropolis as well as why this has been and still is of great import to me.

    I don’t have any bones in my house – not that I don’t want them, but because I’ve never had an opportunity to acquire any. I wondered why that was, but then realised that I’m essentially surrounded by bones, they’re crunching under my feet whenever I walk outside. Hell, the chalk downs are the compressed skeletal remnants of the ancient seas which used to cover this area. I realised I don’t have bones because I don’t need them: they’re everywhere.

    On the metaphorical – no, the bones in the closet are never mute. And as I have found time and time again a good portion of my practice is going through those and speaking to them and then putting them to rest, again and again and again. Sticking fingers in the ears and saying LALALALALA may have worked as a kid, but it doesn’t work now. So I sort it out…it’s not pleasant, it’s not glamorous, but it is part of the Work.

    The bones are not mute – but it’s all right if you cannot hear them. There are certain abilities some are more suited to than others. I always wished I could be one of the Love-n’-Light types of witches; the ones who call themselves Lightworkers and who see the fluffy and sparkly things in the world. There’s something charming about that kind of witch for me. But I am not that type of Worker. I am terrible at woodworking. I can’t dance anymore. My divination skills are utterly naff. I can heal if it’s life or death but that’s about it. What I do is Greet the Dead. I paint. I write. I spin. These are the skills of my Work and rather than persistently try to do things I utterly suck at, I’ve learned to work at perfecting what gifts I have. It took a while to accept this: there is a lot of pressure to try and be a Witch of All Trades, that somehow if you’re not capable of doing many different things you just aren’t trying hard enough. If you cannot hear the bones whisper, honour them anyway, offer them what you are best at, and find one who CAN hear them.

    My tuppence, and thank you for the ability to share.

  2. Thank you for replying! I was beginning to think no one would! I do hear the bones speak, granted what I hear is rarely pleasant.

    I too see the charm in the love-n-light witches, I personally know a few. I wish I could see the world like they do, because it is a far-cry from my own nitty gritty.

    I am a jane-of-all-trades, but that’s just what I can do. I too suck at woodworking, but metalwork I can do. The big difference is that I’m HUMAN about it. Not showy, not ‘OH! Lookie! I’m awesome!’ because my spirits will kindly remind me of all the stupidity, failures, and other pokes that remind me: I suck at much more than I’m good at. Sigh.

    Thanks for your thoughts!

  3. I do not have anything helpful to add…I’ve been stewing over this since I read it Friday night. I’ve never worked with bones. I’ve never felt drawn to work with bones.

    This does call to mind a sci-fi/fantasy book I read where the king goes into the royal ossuary every high holiday to commune with his ancestors bones which are highly decorated.

Leave a Reply

