Thoughts on Life

So with a loom coming into my home by surprise, we’re gearing up for the massive house ‘Furniture Tetris,’ rearrangement as the foster/adoption process is underway.

But one of the questions I was asked hit me with a right hook: “How would you describe your faith?”

I answered “Folk Paganism.” She didn’t understand. Who could blame her?

Then – my thoughts surged through. How can I describe my life, practices, and seasonal observances in a few sentences or words? To get the whole picture, you’d have to live with us, be around us, suffer with us, and then some to understand. Most of it can’t be put into coherent wording. Furthermore, there never was a point to putting it to words.

But I realized something today – something I’ve craved for so long. My own living tradition. I have one. It isn’t perfect by far, but it works in it’s own way. I don’t have all the answers, but any faith or tradition that claims to has me dubious from the get-go. A living tradition can’t fill a book, because it’s alive, and living. Words never cover what living in it can provide.

I hope that makes sense. Now, I’m off to get the loom geared up for some re-introducing to weaving. I haven’t done this since I was a kid. More metalwork coming up, and other projects will be completed. Wish me luck. UPDATE: My first project after re-introducing will be Aj’s surprise altar cloth.

Deal with it woman – you bond with a bear, we’ll keep showing up. Whether you like it, or not. Ok, I might raid your dumpster. Fair enough.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Life

  1. I get to read your blog posts in my email, and so have been remiss in leaving comments and telling you how much I enjoy your company.
    “A living tradition can’t fill a book, because it’s alive, and living. Words never cover what living in it can provide.” Thank you. And, Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

