Henotheistic Polytheism?

I stare at the little corn wolf I made. It’s so alien to me, so foreign. There’s so much folklore about the Corn Wolf I shouldn’t feel this way.

But I do.

I don’t live on an agricultural cycle. Nope, not pastoral either. This season for me is the season of the dead, metalworking, and hunting season. I did carve a jack-o-lantern because I wanted the seeds, but… That’s about it. I’ve been browsing blogs and the like – and I feel like a foreigner around them. I’ve tried corresponding to them – but I get chocked into the lump of  ‘it’s farming but without the farm.’

Wha?

This time of year I bless the hunting implements, and spend hours over my ‘skin

Preparing a raccoon skin. Thanks for all the assist Ma! You’re the best!

board,’ (again to Ma, thank you!)  getting furs salted for the tanning process. Yes, I’m an amateur taxidermist. And that bastard cat that keeps trying to break into our house via our heating ducts will have a nasty surprise if he succeeds. If you practice Seidr, keep your eye on my store for cat-skin gloves. That same bastard dug up my onions, attacked my pooches, attacked us, and kills kittens before their eyes open.

Here kitty kitty…

This post is about those Polytheists who take a henotheistic bend to their world view. I toast you. You, who may worship Anupet, Etno, (And)Arta, Apollo, Cernunnos, and more besides who don’t doubt the validity of worship of the Gods you don’t worship yourself, or even know of. Sure, they may not be yours, but the Gods are Gods. They’re real, and more numerous, and more numerous in their interrelations than our minds can conceive on a global scale. But to you who nod, smile, acknowledge, accept, and even welcome these Gods even though you don’t worship them, or may never know their name – I toast to you.

To those who see a different-skinned, haired, or just plain different  man or woman at a Nordic blot, and just shrug and go on with things in a mind of equality – I toast you.

This time of year should be one of reflection. The Bear Mother has left for Her Underworld sojourn, leaving us with our thoughts and what we’ve learned this year over. Social norms dictate that molds make their world go-round, and to that – FINE. But what good is it when the mold doesn’t change, as the Gods, the world that is a part of them, and the people who make up the living blood of their worship don’t change too? Little life can exist in a stagnant pool.

I can’t help but think of the ‘henotheistic,’ viewpoint as very ‘Pagan.’ With this view, you don’t need to worship all the Gods, nor have the modern concept of ‘All Gods are One,’ notion. It’s much deeper than that. Much broader.

Your ‘pantheon,’ is yours. Mine is mine. Why can’t we share a stiff whiskey together?

Categories: Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Henotheistic Polytheism?

  1. Because that stuff just plain don’t taste good…oh wait that is a flashback to last night’s conversation. Oopsy. 😉

    A lot of this is tied up in ego. I try not to get into pissing contests, partially because of the lack of a hose, partially because I’m well aware that I don’t know enough.

    For me this season is about the dead, the fleeing warmth and the incoming cold. While Hubby hunts, it just leaves me with his share of the parenting responsibilities. I don’t have a green thumb so it isn’t about crops. It is about the incoming cold, preparing the home, making it fun and cheerful as possible as we head farther into the cold. It isn’t the dark, I like the dark. But the cold, I so hate the cold. Even knowing how necessary it is, I hate it.

    • ROFL. I need to introduce you to Honey Whiskey, so sweet….

      I love the cold, but it doesn’t love me back. Sorry for not calling an unexpected Loom showed up at our home last night!

  2. Good morning from Alaska, where the show is already over! 😉

    As a forager, I am probably tied to the agricultural season a shy bit more closely, at least as far as plants go, but our real brouhaha is the fungi & they rule the roost. They aren’t so fond of agricultural cycles. Besides, Alaska is on such a different timetable, that old Wheel helps not. We’re buried in snow by “Samhain.” Taken as the first frost, Samhain might come in September some years…

    I’ve been trying to make sense of it for a long time now. Rewriting & reworking this Wheely-thing to reflect what really happens. Listening to birds (1st guaranteed day of spring in Southern Utah is when the Turkey Vultures return), the Bovini, the Horned Ones (the moose are rutting hardcore right now, look out!), plants, the Sun & Moon, the cycles of my people creatures & always, always fungi. I don’t care much for what some menfolk said our seasons were about long, long ago as filtered thru the Llewellyn company.

    A toast backatcha too. Not a henotheist, but a semi-monogamous polytheist for sure. I do not talk or write much about my relationships with the gods — I consider it a private matter. But I appreciate the voices out there that do. Gives me some validation & a pat on the back saying, “see, you’re not alone… & maybe not stark ravin mad either!”

  3. L

    My practice is becoming more and more about weather and climate and seasons independent of its relation to the growing cycle. At least, the growing cycle that has to do with agriculture proper. Man, I am seriously turning into a rain cultist.

    So yep, here’s to the cycles that have little to do with organized civilization! Feral indeed. 😉

    Cazadores, anyone?

  4. To L:

    I raise my own toast to you. I’m a metalwork and hunter worker, and little did I know I’ve become a bone worker. Gah! Move to COLORADO!

    To Mama Fauna:

    You’re awesome. I learn from your tidbits of wisdom every time you post. I wish I could find your blog again! Stupid WordPress has been finicky about links.. Ugh!

    • L

      Move to Vancouver! So you’ll be there when I get there! :PPP

      • Oh.. Be careful there, there are job offers…. The immigration holds us back….

      • L

        Oh no! Yeah, sorry.

        However! I would totally very much love to visit Colorado, as I hear it’s a beaut, and since the hubs and I want to do more travelling after I get settled in up there. Not to mention that my mom can nab us a weekend in a timeshare pretty much anywhere, so I suppose… expect a visit eventually! (Any good microbreweries in your area too?)

      • Several, actually, and I brew myself, my father does too ;).

Leave a Reply

