Recapping on Bears

There is a growing trend that makes me very nervous due to the white-washing, dilution, twisting, and fundamentalism that has grown around other well-known gods but now it’s coming close to home: Arctolatry.

This is near and very dear to me, and I do grow more apprehensive about it. What rigid social molds and/or fundamentalism will grow from this that will make any Work with bear deities, and bear spirits, virtually impossible to the new learner? What parts of the mighty Bear Gods will be ignored because it doesn’t ‘fit,’ into their ideas of what a ‘bear should be?’

It is very true – when you break the mold, you no longer fit into the social scene. Why, I don’t know.

So I recap here, on my stance, research, and experiences with my Bear Mother. I am aware you probably won’t agree, and that’s perfectly alright. It’s what I know, what I’ve seen, and what I’ve learned. It’s not perfect, but it works.

Arta in an American context.

The Gods at Large.

She-Bear Musings and Trickery (This post taught me a bit about Greek beliefs by Dver, and I appreciate that)

The Underworld, and Metalwork

Alabama Folklore

Now, I know I won’t ‘fit in‘ with the up and coming bear-worshipers. I’m just nervous as something so sacred to me is coming under the popularity eye.

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Recapping on Bears

  1. Thanks for collecting all these links together. What I’ve read about working with Bears has been from a Norse or Finnish POV, so most of this is new to me.

  2. Pingback: Re-looking at old posts… | The Den

Leave a Reply

