Looking at the situation side-ways

Sometimes, it gives us a perspective we didn’t have before.

It’s been hard to be upbeat with all the heart-breaking news and bad luck I’ve had lately. So, for the past few days I’ve taken to just… Focus on my Work. And, re-learning German with the Hubs.

I’ve begun doing more work in my black-bearskin than I’ve done for some time. For my Underworld Work, I cover my body in ash and don the skin. Then, I am no longer myself, but changed through the ritual into something that isn’t bear, nor human but somewhere in-between.

My tools now aren’t your usual ones. My whet stone is very important, as I sharpen my tools anew and finalize my forged knives on them – my salt horn that contains rock salt for rituals; my oil lamp that shines and is a link to the type of lamps the Ancestors used, as well as my skulls that are fetishes, vessels, spirits and witnesses in their own right. Add in my sacred skins, and other tools, and there you have it. My tools that work well for me.

I have a new addition to my, uh, strange little ‘pantheon.’ Lupa is permanent. I do not know what to do or think of the Wolf Mother, but I’ll learn as I go. I’ve worked with Her off and on over the years, and now it’s finally sunk in. I have four Gods. I have also started heavily working with Coyote, as a link to Lupa. Again, I will have to learn as I go, and ‘roll with the punches.’

Other than that, metalworking like a mad-woman gearing up for the holiday season. I’d like to have it fully stocked by November – we’ll have to see what my forge turns out. Still wishing I had more ideas on metalwork, but I don’t know what sort of metalwork pagans need besides knives. Got any ideas?

****

I thought about all the ruckus going on about humanistic pagans, and Pagans who don’t believe the Gods chose anyone, and the like.

I do firmly believe that the Gods do pick people, albeit I think it’s more rare than you think. But, it does happen. Now, I do really see where Swain is coming from. I really do. There are so many out there that jump onto titles and claims (why I don’t know, but they do), and that jaded me as well.

As far as the humanist pagans go, it seems they’re trying to rip the photo in two and toss the other half into the trash. I think there has been something lost in the Pagan community, but I can’t figure out what. Maybe we didn’t have ‘it‘ all all along.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Looking at the situation side-ways

  1. Alchemille

    I’m on a shamanic path and I do agree with you on the fact that Gods/Spirits chose the people they wish to work with and/or teach to. I’ve had some come to me out of the blue in dreams, journeys or other occasions.
    As for metalwork ideas, what about daggers (ok it’s still some kind of knife) or arrowheads? I don’t know if you wish to touch to jewelry but then what about a torc? My 2 cents worth…
    I too need to relearn German (I spoke German even before French)…So many things too learn, so little time (maybe I need a little bit more focus and discipline too).

    • Nice idea – torcs… I hadn’t thought of it before. I wonder, I do have left over aluminum that I can make for the urban/modern pagan to connect to.. Maybe?

      I fully plan on getting neck-deep again in jewelry (my father is a jeweler) and see what ‘other’ metalwork I can come up with – mostly saved for days that it’s too cold out here to forge as it does get below Zero here. Thank you for reminding me.

      Yes, I grew up speaking German and French from family – but… You don’t use it – you lose it.

      Yes, I’m not sure what to think of a predominantly Celto-Germanic path now mixed with a Roman wolf will hold – I have no clue. I guess I’ll find out?

      • Alchemille

        Spirits are full of surprises…They can make you travel the world(s) and time without ever getting outside of your house 😉

Leave a Reply

