Store Updates

So I’ve updated my store with what I’ve been working on. It includes hand-forged items, with rauchstocks and paintings to boot.

My computer got hit with a hard-drive wiping virus that cleaned my hard drive

Made from a photo of a Summer Solstice at the Henge itself.

and all files out. My store would’ve been updated prior to this – on Friday, had Thursday not been the day of the bug. I’m finally cleaned, and…

Virus creators are sad creatures indeed. Get a hobby. Or a fuck-buddy. Or a girlfriend that isn’t inflatable, or .. Whichever.

The Damascus steel blade will be there too, eventually. Etsy and my shitty internet connection are still uploading them to the store. One mirror completed, and then some.

I’m always up for a trade, but I wonder why no one is asking for one, besides the few who have. Is it the culture we live in? The times we live in?

I read Sarah Lawless’ blog, and her ideas on books hit me. I haven’t actually sat down, and devoted my time to pure reading since 2010. That isn’t to say I won’t read a book (or three) at any given time. However, most of my couple of years have been with experience and gnosis. You don’t know how to ride a bike until you actually do it.

I do have an envy for her, Dver, and others – because I don’t get to talk to a Pagan in person for months or years. It’s too far to drive, and it’s hard to get jokes or other hilarious connotations via texts on the internet. So, the conversations have been only internet based and with the English major of my Hub’s, I’ve done… Ok? Maybe? Sort of?

While it would be damned nice to have others to work with, and talk to – I’m probably a hermit for a reason. I’m abrasive, hard to get along with, intense to be around, and horribly opinionated. I won’t mention my temper.

I don’t read much anymore, due to Arta’s intense teaching, Etno’s non-tricky trickery, and Karnona’s own lessons… It’s been a busy couple of years. Without books though, I’d probably still be wondering where my brain ends, and where the actual divine begins. I’m only human, and well – I’m very flawed.

I probably will never stop loving books – when I can’t actually walk out of a bookstore empty handed should tell one something. Especially, if it’s folklore. I don’t know how many books I refused to part with on that topic.

In the end, I’m glad I got to do some metalwork this weekend. The virus is leaving slowly, but leaving. It was nice not to be tuckered out by simply being

Finished and up for sale.

awake for a damned change.

And, I’m glad I got to update the store. I hope you like the inventory, if not – let me know (if I can improve I’d love to know how).

The link to my store:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/DeafBearsDen?ref=si_shop

Categories: Uncategorized | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Store Updates

  1. On trades in your store: do you have an idea of how much is lack of interest in trades, and how much is simply the number of visits to your shop? In other words, are you marketing enough to actually get your work seen by the sorts of people who would be interested? That would be the first step – most artists and artisans I know don’t spend nearly enough time marketing (myself included, but my goals are modest).

    On reading: have you read “The Bear: History of a Fallen King” by Michel Pastoureau? It is a recent publication, and really impacted me. Of course, it’s dealing primarily with the bear in European history in the last couple thousand years, which may not be your primary interest, but thought I should mention it.

    Btw, don’t envy me. I have Sannion, and of course I’m very grateful for that, but other than him I do not have in-person relationships with anyone (pagan or otherwise). Seriously, I’m one of the most hermit-like people I’ve ever known (as is Sannion – we don’t even live together, we’re such hermits – so I only even see him in person a few days a week). For many of the same reasons you cite, among others.

  2. “The Bear: History of a Fallen King” by Michel Pastoureau is the writing I’ve wanted for… Well, a while now! I wish I could get a copy! I admit my drool over the title.

    I’m probably not marketing it enough, true. I suck at selling, anything. I’ve tried that numerous times. I was just wondering if I was missing something in the bigger picture.. But if the focus should be smaller – well – bears don’t have the best eyesight.

    I admit my surprise – you have such eloquence, such poise! I didn’t think you were a hermit! Well, call my face red!!

    • It’s an excellent and thought-provoking book, you should definitely read it when you get a chance. I bet after some time it will be readily available through interlibrary loan.

      I don’t know, it’s possible that most people aren’t really used to the idea of trades or are uncomfortable with it, in this age of money. But I do think it will be more likely, the more you can get your work out there to the right people.

      Oh yes, I’m very much a hermit, I even wrote about it a little here: http://forestdoor.wordpress.com/2010/07/28/loners-mystics/. I am very difficult to know/get along with, and very picky about who I spend time with, and mostly content to be in the company of my gods and spirits, so all that together results in a very solitary life. Without Sannion, I would not talk to anyone on most days other than at work (and even there, I am often alone in the office). I may be able to converse eloquently, but I usually have no inclination to do so with other humans (I am much more interested these days, for instance, in learning to communicate with birds.) This is in part my nature, and partly accentuated by my Work with my spirits.

  3. Karen

    I am very interested in trading with you one of these days. I make chainmaille jewellery – is that something you’d be interested in? Being as I’m in Australia, I’m limited in what I can import (so unfortunately I can’t trade for rauchstocks, which I’d love) but I have a distinct feeling that you’ll list something someday that will call my name, so to speak 🙂

    • OOh, chainmail jewelry! Sorry, I’ve been a tad slow on some things – I would love to trade something for a knife! I can ship Rauchstocks to you – but Australia has a lengthy list of ‘no-no’s’ for plants and their products. I’ll look into it and if wormwood is ok, I’ll get back to you! Email me bottledhammer at yahoo dot com.

  4. I think trading is about who you know, and what you’d like in return – etsy is a difficult beast to get on with at the moment. You have to be vocal and put on the sales-face in order to get known – I have Etsy, facebook, twitter, and I’ve had maybe one sale on my Etsy site. People are pretty broke at the moment but it will happen with a bit of time and effort.

    I used to be a blacksmith (well I was apprenticing) and I have to say your blades need a bit of work to sell unless you’re doing them as “rustic” pieces. They’re pocked all over, the edge on them is barely discernible and rather wavery (and gods, the amount of time I did edging, cripes, edging itself is an art), the binding needs some work as well as it seems to slip on some of your knives. The leaf-blades you do are very nice, however, looking very balanced (I’d suggest getting a bit of cloth and degreaser in order to get all the fingerprints off when you take photos of them, just looks more pro). There are woman bladesmith workshops out there – when the ladyfolk don’t want to deal with men’s jibes when they attend other stuff – so it’s just a matter of looking round.

    I find things pick up a bit towards November when people start looking for Xmess stuff so my suggestion would be to do whatever divination/meditation/rolling the bones you need to get in touch with what may work well for Xmess selling – I tend to have seasonal things I focus on so maybe inspiration will work for you.

    Good luck on it!

    P.S. – without the internet I don’t think I’d talk to anyone, ever. I rarely leave the house. Hermit, indeed.

    • The farthest I got after apprenticing was Journeyman, and since I had to leave blacksmithing for the Army, I’m damned near starting from scratch. Not only that, but I don’t have power tools, or the large scale tools I keep seeing many other smiths with.

      I’m damned near about to give up on the hopes of trading altogether, but leave the little snippet on the individual posts.

      • Take heart, truly – if it’s meant to be it will come together for you; and hey, you ASKED, so I told. It takes time to make it happen. Haunt whatever you can, hell even youtube has some cool vids to help with perfecting technique. You have some good ideas, but they need refinement, like everything else. Every year, I have to give up something because my health gets a little bit worse – I’ve had to start painting again because I literally can’t do much else, and it is literally like starting from scratch. Persevere! It will come, but it won’t happen in a rush. Every painting I do, I learn something I didn’t know how to do before – it’s amazing how much time I spend not-actually-painting as I figure out how the hades to do summat.

        You’ll get there…don’t rush, don’t be in a hurry to trade. Just practice – the old masters didn’t have all the large scale tools either, but they found a way. It will come. Good luck!

      • Since it won’t let me reply to you Dreema, I’ll do it here. Thanks for replying, and you’re right, I did ask. It may take me brooding in the corner after hearing some hard criticism, but I always appreciate it in the end. And, that’s the exact advice I got when I asked an older smithy I work with – ‘Rushin’ will only fuck it up not once, but twice,’ so.. It’s off to battle my damned impatience..

        I’m sorry your health isn’t getting better, I’d love to see a painting sometime of yours. I will persevere, no worries :). I’m taking a lighter step to the trading idea, and if it happens, groovy. If not, well… That’s ok too.

  5. Another key to success with Etsy is photographs. I notice that most if not all of your items only have one photo, when Etsy gives you five for free. If possible, work on lighting, close-up detail shots, backgrounds, etc. to get the most professional photos you can with whatever you’re using. The more photos the better, since that’s all people really have to go on when they decide to buy from you.

    Also, tagging. You have something like 14 keywords you can use, use them all! It will make it much more likely for people to find you.

    Might be useful to spend a few hours going through Etsy’s tutorials and guides which will give you a lot of helpful hints to sell on their platform.

    And final suggestion – you don’t appear to have a link to your Etsy shop on this blog!

    • I give myself a face-palm. I’m such a noob on Etsy… I will post a link right away! Thanks for the tips!

    • Just coming back to this, and maybe this is more “help” than you want, but… I was looking through my favorites on Etsy today and came back to your shop, and looking at your fire sticks… for instance, on the wormwood ones, you don’t have the plant name listed in the title or the tags, so someone looking for wormwood smudge sticks might not even find them. I’d also use that term, “smudge” in the tags because that’s how most people will search. And, maybe, wormwood, artemisia, plants, ritual, blessing, purification, smoke, incense, wildcrafted…. etc. The first step is just to get your products coming up on the search if that’s what people are looking for. Think about how they will find the item, rather than how it looks in your shop (since people first have to find your shop). Ok, done with the advice now, unless you want more! 🙂

      • I’m still working on tags – I do appreciate any and all help on it! I say again I’m trying to get rid of the ‘noobie’ feel to it. Thank you for yet another good idea!

  6. “I don’t get to talk to a Pagan in person for months or years. It’s too far to drive”

    Ouch.

    • What? I haven’t seen you or talked to you for, how long now? I do miss talking to you and chatting on the porch.

      I don’t know if I should count the dragon-guy as a Pagan, he seems to be – everywhere. I met two hippies from Utah some time back, but that’s been about it.

Leave a Reply

