So….

So here I am at home. Again. Sick.

So it is here, and this isn’t the first time – that I had to defy conventional wisdom of spirit work. I don’t know how many times I’ve heard this “NEVER practice ill.” When you’re the only one in the house that works with the spirits.. There are times that you have to do it. Sick or not.

On the plus side, our health is gaining itself once again. We were hit by a virus that turns into a bacterial infection quickly, and if we didn’t watch it, it will be bronchitis or pneumonia. We did watch it thankfully (with me in the house, nagging with herbal remedies… yea. I know.) and with the spirit work done, we’re on the slow, but steady, up and up. Yay!

I also learned, that we have a shit-ton of wild wormwood growing around our house, next to the highway, breaking through the dirt on our dirt road, and it’s invading pastureland and farmland. Damn these plants are creepers!

But, that’s alright. I’ve managed to make several Rauchstocks from wormwood,

The black is wormwood, the white is slippery elm.

and I will be selling some online. The downside is, well, I’m still sick as shit. I didn’t get very far. But, that’s ok.

Soon my pretties…

Also, the mirrors are shaping up nicely. They should be up this weekend for sale. And, if my health keeps up – more knives too. Maybe the beginning of a sword… I don’t know yet. I feel the Hub’s glare on the side of my face when I deliberately type this – I won’t push it. We’ll have to see how I feel at the end of the week.

Categories: Uncategorized | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “So….

  1. Funny, almost all the spirit workers I know do their work ill or not and all the shamans I know consistently practice when sick, as most of them are chronically ill. I’ve never heard the maxim of don’t practice when ill before.

    • Well, I can’t say I know them, and while I do have chronic illness – this bug kicked my ass. Sorry you haven’t hear that before, I’ve heard it I don’t know how many times.

      • And if I listened to that bit of ‘wisdom,’ I wouldn’t have gone as far as I have, and learned as much as I know now.

  2. Elizabeth

    I know spiritworkers with chronic illnesses who sometimes have no choice about whether or not to work when they’re feeling bad. A client shows up, an emergency happens, they are the only ones who can do what needs doing, and then…yeah. There they are, working away while coughing and aching and running a fever. Sure, it’s optimal to work when in good health, but sometimes you have to do what has to be done when it needs doing, not necessarily when you’re ready.

    • I was going to say something similar. I have a (not serious, but certainly bothersome) chronic illness that means I’m rarely feeling in optimal health. If I didn’t Work when ill, I’d never Work. In fact, I’ve had to learn all sorts of techniques to *use* the illness to further my Work, because the other option is to just let it overwhelm me and that’s no good.

      That being said, some types of illness will still usually knock me out, just because I tend to get head-blind when I have certain symptoms. Fortunately those are much more rare for me.

      • dreema

        Seconded. My condition is worsening as time goes on, but it has strangely enough freed up more time for Work, as mundane work on a typical schedule is now rather beyond me. I still write, and create, but if I didn’t practice due to illness, I doubt I’d practice at all. Some days, it’s just not possible and I’m off the hook for that – like this week as I’ve pushed so much, for so long, I’m being given a reprieve. But I’m usually expected to carry on in some way, even if not direct practice, doing something which relates to my Work is usually possible. Doing Work is the most “flexi-time” job I’ve ever had, even if it’s also the most demanding.

      • Well, can’t say I’m in ‘optimum health,’ most of the time. This bug was nasty, and I hesitated, sure. When I’m almost there without ritual, I do worry about working. But due to the health of my house, I went anyway, and I’m glad I did.

    • Ain’t that the truth. Sometimes, you just have to do it.

  3. Natalie Reed

    Hi! – curious about the term “Rauchstocks” have not seen that before. Clearly a smudge stick, but is this a European term for them? When I Google, I get a lot of German sites. Thanks, and hope you feel better soon!

    • I bound them mostly for ease of use, but yes, that’s just what I call them – fire sticks. It is a German term, but it’s just what I use for them because they aren’t used like smudge sticks in the typical sense.

  4. Babs

    Please get better 😦 Don’t push yourself too hard or you might make yourself worst.

    • FWIW, sometimes spirit-workers are wired a bit differently. I know that personally, especially with things like viruses, doing the Work and pushing hard can actually speed up the illness and/or force the bug out of my body. (Though sometimes, it’s still important to rest, of course.) That’s part of how I practice Somafera, which is part of my spirit-work.

      • Well, I’m glad I went anyway, we’re on the up and up. I’m not familiar with Somafera, but I’ll look into that (couldn’t hurt to learn something new).

Leave a Reply

