Regional Altar

This is the altar of the region I live in – out in bum fuck nowhere. Yes, they are keenly connected to metalwork, machinery, and tools (kinda runs rampant in our house) but they are also healers, farmers, ranchers, and very domestic. Their names are private, please understand that.

Yep, our tiny home is on the poverty line. TOLD ya I’m poor! But, I’m trying. I

Still working on the River spirit, and the Toad genius loci. I’m pretty sure if I am to place them on here, something will be made apparent. Again – it’s a bad idea to rush or try to force the spirits you’re trying to maintain a relationship with.

don’t have any bull horns to put on there yet, but maybe a rancher would be willing to give me one when he de-horns his cattle; I don’t know yet.

They are very much local deities, and if I get to move they will not be accompanying me. I don’t think they’re lesser than Arta or my other Gods, just tied in to this area, and the activities therein. It’s just different. It is definitely a work in progress, and I thank Dver again for giving that inspiration.

This little altar as helped me understand the farmers and ranchers, who otherwise would still be the ‘oranges,’ to my ‘apples,’ so to speak. It’s akin to a fox approaching a chicken coup, it’s foreign and well – it might go well (dinner) or the fox might end up being a stole for the farmer’s wife.

My life, practice, and work has nothing to do with them – and since some are asking for assistance on a spiritual level – I am thankful these two stepped up and showed me a thing or two. Otherwise, I’d be up shit-creek with no paddle in a leaky boat.

Everything on it is local – the goat horns are from a neighbor’s stock, the incense burner from a local elm tree, the tiny anvil is an old jeweler’s anvil I received as a gift from a former, now late, neighbor. The candle holder is what I welded for these two, the spittoon is from a local antique store, etc.

So there you have it.

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Regional Altar

  1. When we are not in Alaska, we too live in BFE. In relative terms, not all that far from you. Local cultures & local Spirits are so incredibly diverse & variable. I see that accentuated as I move back & forth, back & forth with the seasons. I don’t do formal altars in the house anymore, but I have been thinking about placing some permanent, or semi-permanent, shrines on our property out in cattle country. You just gave me a few ideas.

    • Thanks for replying! That’s why the local altar is so important to us! We have Arta as the chief deity, but there are two others that are more widely associated with our household, and will go with us (they have yet to leave me since my teens!).

      This altar is not intended to be permanent so I understand about the variable; and if we move, I plan on putting this entire altar, statues n’ all in a kit for someone who wants to work with these Gods, who lives in this area. If we move, it would make more sense to find a loving home, then to abandon them because I’m leaving their area. It seems wrong, and rude to me (can’t fully say why, for me ‘it just is,’ if that makes sense). I can already tell with watery eyes that if I do have to part with them – it won’t be easy.

      I do wonder, if the Ancients had this emotional side to leaving their local Gods too. Food for thought no?

      • Yeah, I wonder about that too. Actually, I wonder if they thought about their deities in localized ways more than we do. Like, pagans today will work with deities or spirits that are from very far away places & unfamiliar cultures. But would our ancestors have done this? Did they take Them along (so to speak) or did they switch gears & tune in to the new locale? I find it difficult to think about importing/exporting deity/spirit folk. Maybe this is because I am going from the desert southwest to Alaska, very quickly. Maybe if I was taking my family & pack animals on a trek that took months & landed me in a place not so different from the place I left it wouldn’t seem so strange. But I tell ya, when I leave the dry heat of the high desert & hit these boreal forests (and vice versa) it’s a whole different ballgame.

      • It is something to think about, and if I get to move closer to the mountains, I wonder who I’ll meet, what spirits, etc. I can only imagine what the shock must be like to go from desert to forest!

  2. Beautiful! I am always interested in the ways in which others honor local spirits and powers. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

