Meeting the Corn Spirit?

So when I approached the corn field, I was expecting the Bilwiss, or other known corn entity. But what I got, was a wolf.

A wolf? And more – a female wolf? From it’s sandy coloring – maybe a wolf/coyote?

What?

Sure, there’s folklore aplenty. But, out here does it apply? Does that mean I’ve met the corn-wolf known from European folklore? Or, is it something else entirely?

I’m not sure. I’m going back to my rum and to cool off from my little walk, and… Well, I don’t know yet. A wolf?

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Meeting the Corn Spirit?

  1. caldilla

    I’m a kiwi so I have no idea about your local mythology etc, but I remembered reading about the wolf being associated with corn by the Pawnee, ( no idea about American geography so I don’t know if it’s relevant) but sure enough according to wikipedia : “The Pawnee, being both an agricultural and hunting people, associated the wolf with both corn and the bison; the “birth” and “death” of the Wolf Star (Sirius) was to them a reflection of the wolf’s coming and going down the path of the Milky Way known as Wolf Road.[16]”.

    No idea if that is helpful or not, good luck on your musings!

  2. I have no idea who you met, but there’s definitely connections between wolves and grain. For instance, Veles, the Slavic wolf-headed god of magic, shepherds (because, they must fend off wolves), the underworld, etc., is also honored with the last sheaf of grain at the harvest.

    • Well, then I don’t feel so nutsy about the encounter. I haven’t approached the field again yet – kinda would like to have my aces laid out before hand, ya know?

Leave a Reply

