UPDATED: Red Moon – August Moon

I can’t believe I skipped this. So, I’ll recap:

The August Moon is for me the Red Moon. During this moon the Dog Days are settling, and it is time to settle disputes, debts, right wrongs that have been done, basically sorting out the mess that was created during the year and specifically during the insane time of this hot part of summer.

Hazelnuts are a big part of this moon, from pastries, cremes, or candies. Delicious! Also this year I was given a bunch of cucumbers from local growers, so I am in the works of making pickles. Granted, the ones I was given are half-wild, growing in the brush on the far forgotten parts of the guy’s land, but that’s OK. Pickles are awesome either way.

I felt the heat intensely, and I took my forge out and blessed it to work for the Artificers and Arta. I think it went well.

During this, I got inspiration for other projects that I’ll be hopefully either be completing soon or starting soon – such as book buckles, lanterns, candlesticks, etc. Maybe ( I stress maybe) I’ll get some horns from local ranchers. I don’t know if I will get any yet, but I did let them know they don’t have to pitch them – I’ll happily take them. From them – salt horns, calling horns, drinking horns – all kinds of stuff. We’ll just have to wait and find out.

And lastly, I cleaned and remade my altar. It needed it, and it gave me an opportunity to keep up my downsizing and analyzing of everything I worked with, or allowed to just ‘clutter‘ my altar without realizing it initially. It wasn’t easy, and those old issues of ‘but.. but..‘ kept creeping in.

My salt horn is put back after years of just hanging on the wall – as is the ram’s horn I found on the side of a mountain slope after a hard winter (sadly, no skull was found, just the one horn) it had just sat on a shelf barely used, but sorely missed. My coyote skin bag has been kept to be my ‘skin bottle,’ and overall the entire tone of the altar has changed.

It hasn’t downsized at all – but for some strange reason, it seems less cluttered.

And I sat and thought again – am I truly a Henotheist? I have two other Gods, of Karnona, and Etno that are on the peripheral of my practice, but still there. I have been doing a shit-ton of reading, and found this: (http://realpagan.net/profiles/blogs/understanding-henotheism) and now I sit here thinking still, wondering, and looking at the clouds as they go by. I wish there were other Pagans out here sometimes.  So am I a Henotheistically Polytheist? How the fuck does that work?

I’ll mull this over – hell I’m sitting here looking at e-books, blogs, and University articles. Maybe I’m not the Henotheist I thought I was after all? Maybe I am? I’ll chew on this, smoke some delicious cavendish in my pipe, and see where I end up.

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “UPDATED: Red Moon – August Moon

  1. caldilla

    I’m not sure what you are, these label things still freak me the fuck out because they confuse me so much! But if it’s any consolation, I think whatever you are is awesome. Because it seems to me you are not trying to fit into anyone else’s preconceived mould. You just…. Are who you are. Which is so refreshing and it’s what makes your blog so readable.

    • I appreciate that – and I’ve been thinking about ‘why do I need a label to begin with?’ It freaks me out too, which is probably why I’m mulling over it so much lately.

      Maybe I just need to pack a new pipe bowl, grab some rum, and just let the nit-picky definitions go. Not like they’d fit anyway right?

      • caldilla

        In my limited experience, labels are for the comfort and information of people who are not you, since it’s a human thing to organise people in their mind. “so and so is in the army = military person and all the connotations that comes with that, so and so is a lecturer = an academic person and all the connotations that come with that”. It’s like a shorthand for interactions.

        The rum and pipe sound like an excellent idea. Although its 9 in the morning here, so I will raise my orange juice to you in toast :-p

  2. That’s the conclusion I’m starting to get to – but then I have thoughts that make the carousel go ’round again. UGH!

    And… With my rum glass – TING.

  3. Karen

    Hi 🙂 I’ve just found your rather excellent blog yesterday, and figured I should say hello, so as you know who is reading you. I’m Karen. A few more of my labels – aussie, paganish, polytheistic-flavoured, animistic, mother of a special needs kid who is about to be ten and oh gods that makes me feel old, soon to be wife… None of which sum me up or explain me to you at all. So yes, labels. Mostly useless 🙂 Hope you’re having a stellar day!

Leave a Reply

