Belated Post

To present, bless and send homewards.

So, after every project metalworking or otherwise, I take the finished item to the altar to present to Arta and the many spirits in a semi-formal ritual to declare that ‘it is done,’ which is something that is integral to my smithing and leather-working. The items are presented to Arta to bestow blessings or other attributes and to give a formal send off to their permanent bearers.

I am tickled with the knives I’ve made so far – so sharp they cut cured saddle leather! The downside is my whetstone cracked – now I need a new one. So I used older methods for sharpening, which… I don’t like as much but it still makes one mean edge. This is for Dver – I hope you like your little knife, I have it’s twin and I love that little blade. It’s adorable and so workable.

And, my current project today is intended as an offering to a Goddess and Her attendants that I royally pissed off. I try not to – but, I’m a bear in a pottery barn sometimes and it happens anyway. It is an offering to Aphrodite to Her attendants the Graces as well as Her followers, a Greek shell that it tipped in 14 karat gold, with freshwater pearls, opal beads, and coral – all strung on the ‘G’ string from an acoustic guitar. I hope Her followers like it – I really hope SHE likes it. I hope the Graces like it. Shit – I just hope, ya know?

Here it is, all pink and naked:

1 1/2 square, roughly.

 

 

 

 

 

With Greek Scallop shell. Thoughts?

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Belated Post

  1. I love it! I am so very excited to get this! It looks perfect.

    Also, that shell necklace is gorgeous (and I love the touch of the G string).

    • I really hope you like it – I will be nervous until you receive it..

      I hope someone who is Hellenic can have this item and wear it with pride – I even paid attention to Aphrodite’s sacred number six, with the three graces always in attendance…

  2. Pingback: Bears and knives and things « A Forest Door

  3. That knife looks gorgeous! It’s the simplicity of the curves, I think, that really speak to me. You mentioned making other knives of a similar size or shape (at least, I think you did? I went hunting through your Flickr. :)). Do you still sell them, or have they all been snatched up?

    Also, that necklace is also gorgeous! The detail you put into it is really beautiful (especially the tipping of the shell!).

  4. Yep, in total I ended up making four knives – two identical, made at the same time, and thus are ‘twins.’ The other two were the day after, another set of ‘twins.’ Yeppers, they’re for sale or trade – I’ll post a picture soon of the other ‘twins.’ They’re damn near identical but still unique – because, well, I ain’t a machine 😉 . Well, truth be told I FEEL like one sometimes…

    • Heh. Know what that feels like (although with less… metal working. :P). It would be awesome to see what the other twins look like! Also, how much do you usually charge for your knives? And, do you do international shipping at all (well, Canada is considered international by the US…)?

      • Yep, I ship worldwide. It’s not cheap sadly. I just posted them a few minutes ago – hope one speaks to you :).

Leave a Reply

