Smaller Conferences

I think instead of huge Cons, Faires, etc., we Pagans as a diverse bunch should host smaller gatherings – and let those who choose to go – go.

This whole post, is started from these:

http://ljwitch.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/differences-in-beliefs-in-paganism/

http://www.sourcememory.net/veleda/?p=486

http://fruitofpain.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/in-response-to-the-lilith-rite-at-pantheacon/

The whole point I take from this is – instead of HUGE events, why not smaller ones? Granted they may or may not be as grand, or as news-worthy… But they’d work better, and it gives the person the option to choose which one(s) they attend. Having so many different traditions, and so many different views in one place causes problems. Typically, there’s going to be a dog-fight somewhere.

I am not a feminist. I think men and women are equal by rights of having arms, legs, and to some extent a brain. Showing equality should be the goal in my view – but… Then again, that’s just me. I dare a man to tell me I’m weak, or not worthy – I’ve had enough martial arts training and seasoning from the Military to break your jaw before you finish your sentence. But, if you give me equality, and respect – you’ll get it in return.

But, that’s just me…

I don’t think I’ll go to any major event – people bringing in their old prejudices from former religions (many Pagans are converts, I’ve never been a Christian nor intend to ever be – As if Arta would allow that to happen…) and I think it’s more hurtful, than productive. Saying a transgendered person isn’t this or that is just arrogant in my eyes. Are you in their head? Do you feel what they feel? See what they see?

That ties into bigger issues. Identity. Why can’t you just be you? I’m Anne, and I’m a person who does many things. I’m still Anne. I don’t need the ‘spirit worker’ to identify me. I will be the one who determines that, not a description, or title. Also, I won’t let someone else determine it for me.

I realize that smaller gatherings are unlikely to happen because too many people want to turn a profit. I think that’s unfortunate, and off focus from what the gathering is intended to be about.

Basically, we as Pagans don’t get along well in large settings typically. Too many views, thus means too many sparks next to the kindling. The smaller gatherings could focus, and include/exclude, and make it known that this or that will or won’t go on. You can focus, and learn. You can go to many gatherings, and learn other things. I think in smaller chunks, we can get more nutrition.

So why are we trying to bite off more than we can chew?

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Smaller Conferences

  1. I agree that smaller gatherings would be preferable, with some sort of shared tradition holding people together. The problem is getting people to travel, often a long and expensive way, for just a small gathering. I think things like PCon are more attractive because they will see more and meet more people for the effort. In the 15 years or so that I’ve been part of the Hellenic community, there have not to my knowledge been *any* significant gatherings – clearly the interest isn’t really there, despite what people say. When my partner and I tried to organize one in response to supposed demand (for no profit, and with much $ coming from our own pockets), no one was actually willing to put their money where their mouth was and commit to going. Disappointing, but there it is. I don’t know what the answer is. Most people are still practicing on their own, or with a couple others, but don’t really seem to want a larger, but still intimate, gathering of like-minded co-religionists, especially not compared to the big social parties of the larger cons and festivals. Just another way I don’t understand most other pagans!

    • I would organize one myself, but I’m the only pagan out here for miles! I’m very poor financially (I’m a welder and blacksmith, not a whole ‘lot of money there but… I love it) but I haven’t the first clue how to organize a local one. Most of the pagans I know of want those ‘block party’ kind of gatherings – I agree with you on that – I wish there were smaller more focused ones, not entirely based on social activities. I think that’s missing the point of the gathering.

      I wish there was an answer – and lately a growing wish I have is there were other pagans in my area… So maybe we could have a small group or something…

      • I’ve often wished that I had a small group, as I did in my earliest pagan days, but frankly all my attempts at such in the past decade have been nothing but disappointing. Instead, I’m counting my blessings that I have my partner to do some things with (especially festivals and the Hellenic side of my practice), and for the rest, turning my focus to the non-human participants, i.e., being content with the gods and spirits alone. It’s just been impossible to find other polytheists who want the same thing out of ritual, who have a certain disposition we’re looking for, and anything less than that has felt like a waste of time. Guess I’m just getting more picky as I get older! I certainly am not interested in the socializing part of things. I just want the power of many people praying and offering and being ecstatic in concert.

      • Well, I wish I had that too – my Hubs is a Messianic Jew, and soooo… I celebrate alone. From the Solar festivities, lunar, other rituals – I’m on my own. Sigh. Now I’m depressed.

Leave a Reply

