Patron Diety of America?

Go through as many Pagan books as you’d like. Most Pagan cultures, honor the ‘patron’ of that land in whatever form it will take (depending on incoming peoples). I’ve been a huge practitioner of this. I honored many Gods in different lands, because it’s ‘their’ land.

So, I’ve been tossing the idea around – Is there a patron of the United States? I’ve been delving deeply into American folklore – and found Liberty, and Columbia.

If there is a patron, it’d be in my best interest as a spirit worker to honor them – but… I’m not sure.

Columbia, is the name given as a nickname for America. It’s been the name given to many American places, institutions, companies… The name means “Land of Columbus,” and it first appeared as a name in 1738. This name occurs in several places through the Revolution.

I have found statues, plaques, poetry, and those who actually might have worshiped this Columbia. Apparently She’s a patron worshiped in private groups, and secret societies.

Libertas, is a Roman Goddess that is the embodiment of liberty. Her image has been the ‘head’s up’ side of the coin up until the 20th century. She’s a Goddess that liberated slaves, gave the voiceless voice, etc. She wore the pileus, also associated with freedom. The statue in New York is Her personified.

Some say they’re the same. Anyone? Thoughts?

If I were to honor Her, it wouldn’t be in typical worship. It’d be separate, as an honoring of the Goddess who looks after Her land and people. Many other nations have their Matrons/Patrons – are we any different? Anyone else take a gander at this? Work with either?

Here are some links:

http://www.orderwhitemoon.org/goddess/Columbia%20Level%203%20Project.htm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberty_%28goddess%29

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ReligioRomana/message/10159

Anyone?

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Patron Diety of America?

  1. Personally, I’ve always felt that this country was too physically large, and too culturally diverse, to really feel like it has a patron god, at least not anything I can relate to. But then again, I don’t really relate to the concept of America much. I prefer somewhat smaller regions, like New England or the Pacific Northwest or the Southwest, areas that share a general ecosystem, weather patterns, cultural cohesiveness, etc.

    • In the end, I think I was thinking too big – I think I’ll keep it local. Don’t want to bite off more than I can chew!

  2. I am that way too, whether I like it or not. The idea struck me as I browsed the internet, and I pondered the thought. *shrug* I dunno yet, maybe after my Place Altar it’ll become clearer.

  3. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote
    the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some
    pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is wonderful blog.
    An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  4. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  5. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site. I am hoping to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own website now 😉

  6. Thank you! It was hard – and challenging since my internet is 60% on good days… Appreciate that!

Leave a Reply

